Skip to content

Are You There, Rhett? It’s Me, Scarlet.

September 18, 2011
Are You There God?  It's Me, Margaret.
Seriously, Rhett. Where are you?

While I had previously stated that I didn’t (and still don’t) know how Gone with the Wind ends (consider this friendly reminder #2),  I do know that it’s supposedly a love story involving one Scarlet O’Hara and another Rhett Butler.  By the time I got to page 50 (which, let’s face it, barely puts a dent in this behemoth of a book), I noticed that Rhett was nowhere to be found.  Yes, that’s right.  Rhett, the supposed male lead in this book, had not appeared yet.

Naturally, I thought this meant Rhett’s name came up and I missed it.  And so began the Great Page Turning Debacle wherein I frantically flipped back through the 50 pages I’d read and scanned each one, convinced that I would find some reference to Rhett.  No dice.  As an aside, when I googled Rhett Butler, I was directed to his Wikipedia page and one of the section titles reads, “Searching for Rhett”.  This is not, as I presumed, a reference to his late appearance in the novel but rather to the search for Clark Gable.  The existence of his page and the picture accompanying it do serve as proof of his existence, a reassuring (albeit unnecessary) fact.

Cary Grant as Rhett Butler
While this may serve as proof of Rhett’s existence, I’m still skeptical.

So, here I am on page 50 now, and still, Rhett is MIA.  What I would have liked to write about today was the beginnings of Scarlet and Rhett’s epic romance, but instead, I guess we’re stuck with Scarlet.

Vivien Leigh as Scarlet O'Hara
Who are you looking at, Scarlet? Could it possibly be Rhett?

At first glance, she seems interesting enough to keep me reading, but not interesting enough to keep me reading for much longer.  Read: if this is a romance, then let’s get to it.  Hopefully, Rhett will have shown up by when I post on Wednesday.  Otherwise, we’re going to have some issues.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

