Skip to content

Reason #43 Why I Hate Beloved

September 21, 2011

I tried to book cheat, by reading this:

The Blank Slate
The modern denial of my ability to stay awake.
 
 

As it turns out, human nature works better than Benadryl at putting me to sleep – once I’ve read two pages, I’m out.  And that’s on a day where I’m feeling awake.

The point is that, no, I didn’t get much reading done for Gone With the Wind.  And no, I couldn’t even finish the book I was using to cheat on Gone With the Wind (or get past the first chapter, as it were).  But that doesn’t mean there’s no blog post.  In fact, it marks the beginning of the recurring series, “Reasons Why I Hate Beloved”.   And now onto reason #43:

Oprah.

Oprah
Gasp!

 

 

Yes, that’s right, Oprah.  As some of you may know, I can’t stand Oprah.  For those of you who didn’t know, please stop equating this to murdering puppies.  I’m not saying that I don’t think she does a great job with her philanthropic efforts, I’m just saying that she seriously annoys me while she does it.  Also, her announcer’s voice from her (thankfully) ended show?  No.

Anyway, how does Oprah relate to Beloved, besides being the scourge of humanity?  Thank you for asking.  Oprah played Sethe, the main character, in the movie production.   

Oprah as Sethe
It looks like Oprah’s stroking her hair, but don’t be fooled: she’s just trying to hide the girl’s face so she can be the star of the shot.

 

 

Why did she star in it?  Oh, that’s right, because she bought the film rights to the novel and could only picture herself as Sethe and Danny Glover as Paul D.  Despite this, Beloved was actually never an Oprah’s Book Club selection.  Four of Toni Morrison’s books were selections though, so don’t go feeling sorry for her.

And that is Reason #43.  Stay tuned.

 
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

