Skip to content

Let’s Play Pyramid!

October 30, 2011

Here is a list of four happenings.  Let’s see if you can guess what they have in common – a mini game of Pyramid, if you will.

  1. There is a guy singing the blues outside and he’s driving me nuts.
  2. There’s a girl in a spin class who reminds me of slightly mentally challenged version of Copy Girl on Friends.  You know the one – she sleeps with Ross while he and Rachel are on break (or maybe not on a break).  The girl in spin class is named Susie and can apparently only be pronounced with a squeal.  She also takes up two bikes to stretch so, Susie, if you’re reading this, can you please stay on your bike?  And possibly not squeal your name?
  3. For the longest time, I thought that the random bagpipes I heard on the weekends came from the Irish pub by my apartment.  After confirming that there are no bagpipe players there (except for on St. Patrick’s Day), I am now convinced that someone in a neighboring building likes to practice with their windows open.
  4. Though I counted twice, I still managed to end up with eleven yogurts instead of the ten I was going for.  Please don’t revoke my degree.
Pyramid
Sorry, there’s no prize in this version of the game.

And what do these things have in common?  They are all things that would not happen in The Road.  If you guessed it, give yourself a pat on the back.  No, not literally.

Aside, if you guessed that these are all things that have been bothering me recently, points for trying.  However, this is a blog about reading books.  Use some critical thinking.

I began reading The Road this weekend and I’m about a third of the way through.  It was actually one of two Halloween-ish things I did, the other being watching Buffy the Vampire SlayerThe Road, despite being much less overt, is the more terrifying of the two.

Michelle Trachtenberg as Dawn
The show’s not all that frightening, but Michelle Trachtenberg is always a scary addition to a cast.

While nothing major is happening and it certainly isn’t happening at a quick pace, McCarthy at least had the decency to introduce the two main characters immediately (yes, I’m still upset about Rhett and no, I won’t let it go).  Do I kind of wish I know what they looked like?  Yes.  Though, to be fair, I know the boy has black hair, or at least he had black hair when he was born.

Also, I know that this takes place in a post-apocalyptic America, I’m not sure what the nature of this apocalypse was.  I can only hope that comes out at a later point in the book.

Here’s what I do know: post-apocalyptic America is cold and very grey.  It’s depressing as hell and people are desperate.  And some interesting tidbits about the boy’s mother.  Oh, and that Coca Cola was still around before the apocalypse (thank heavens).

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

