Skip to content


The complete list of Pulitzer Prize winners for Novels (1918-1947) and Fiction (awarded from 1948 forward).  If any year is missing, the prize was not awarded.  Entries in teal have been read.

1918            His Family by Ernest Poole

1919            The Magnificent Ambersons by Booth Tarkington

1921            The Age of Innocence by Edith Wharton

1922            Alice Adams by Booth Tarkington

1923            One of Ours by Willa Cather

1924            The Able McLaughlins by Margaret Wilson

1925            So Big by Edna Ferber

1926            Arrowsmith by Sinclair Lewis (declined prize)

1927            Early Autumn by Louis Bromfield

1928            The Bridge of San Luis Rey by Thornton Wilder

1929            Scarlet Sister Mary by Julia Peterkin

1930            Laughing Boy by Oliver La Farge

1931            Years of Grace by Margaret Ayer Barnes

1932            The Good Earth by Pearl S. Buck

1933            The Store by Thomas Sigismund Stribling

1934            Lamb in His Bosom by Caroline Miller

1935            Now in November by Josephine Winslow Johnson

1936            Honey in the Horn by Harold L. Davis

1937            Gone with the Wind by Margaret Mitchell

1938            The Late George Apley by John Phillips Marquand

1939            The Yearling by Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings

1940            The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck

1942            In This Our Life by Ellen Glasgow

1943            Dragon’s Teeth by Upton Sinclair

1944            Journey in the Dark by Martin Flavin

1945            A Bell for Adano by John Hersey

1947            All the King’s Men by Robert Penn Warren

1948            Tales of the South Pacific by James A. Michener

1949            Guard of Honor by James Gould Cozzens

1950            The Way West by A. B. Guthrie, Jr.

1951            The Town by Conrad Richter

1952            The Caine Mutiny by Herman Wouk

1953            The Old Man and the Sea by Ernest Hemingway

1955            A Fable by William Faulkner

1956            Andersonville by MacKinlay Kantor

1958            A Death in the Family by James Agee

1959            The Travels of Jaimie McPheeters by Robert Lewis Taylor

1960            Advise and Consent by Allen Drury

1961            To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

1962            The Edge of Sadness by Edwin O’Connor

1963            The Reivers by William Faulkner

1965            The Keepers of the House by Shirley Ann Grau

1966            The Collected Stories of Katherine Anne Porter by Katherine Anne Porter

1967            The Fixer by Bernard Malamud

1968            The Confessions of Nat Turner by William Styron

1969            House Made of Dawn by N. Scott Momaday

1970            The Collected Stories of Jean Stafford by Jean Stafford

1972            Angle of Repose by Wallace Stegner

1973            The Optimist’s Daughter by Eudora Welty

1975            The Killer Angels by Michael Shaara

1976            Humboldt’s Gift by Saul Bellow

1978            Elbow Room by James Alan McPherson

1979            The Stories of John Cheever by John Cheever

1980            The Executioner’s Song by Norman Mailer

1981            A Confederacy of Dunces by John Kennedy Toole (posthumous win)

1982            Rabbit Is Rich by John Updike

1983            The Color Purple by Alice Walker

1984            Ironweed by William Kennedy

1985            Foreign Affairs by Alison Lurie

1986            Lonesome Dove by Larry McMurtry

1987            A Summons to Memphis by Peter Taylor

1988            Beloved by Toni Morrison

1989            Breathing Lessons by Anne Tyler

1990            The Mambo Kings Play Songs of Love by Oscar Hijuelos

1991            Rabbit at Rest by John Updike

1992            A Thousand Acres by Jane Smiley

1993            A Good Scent from a Strange Mountain by Robert Olen Butler

1994            The Shipping News by E. Annie Proulx

1995            The Stone Diaries by Carol Shields

1996            Independence Day by Richard Ford

1997            Martin Dressler

1998            American Pastoral by Philip Roth

1999            The Hours by Michael Cunningham

2000            Interpreter of Maladies by Jhumpa Lahiri

2001            The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay by Michael Chabon

2002            Empire Falls by Richard Russo

2003            Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides

2004            The Known World by Edward P. Jones

2005            Gilead by Marilynne Robinson

2006            March by Geraldine Brooks

2007            The Road by Cormac McCarthy

2008            The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Diaz

2009            Olive Kitteridge by Elizabeth Strout

2010            Tinkers by Paul Harding

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: